What is a ivory college?

The Ivy League is a group of 8 colleges in the Northeast United States. The term 'Ivy League' was coined in 1937 by sports writer Caswell Adams who used the term as a reference to the eastern football league. The schools are Harvard, Princeton, Yale, Penn, Dartmouth, Cornell, Columbia and Brown.