How many eggs did paul newman eat in cool hand luke?

The character Lucas Jackson ate fifty eggs, but the actor Paul Newman did not. According to George Kennedy's book, Trust Me: A Memoir, Newman "consumed" as many as eight eggs. As soon as the director yelled "cut," Newman vomited into nearby garbage cans.