When was the philly cheese steak invented?

According to Philadelphia's tourism site, Pat Olivieri invented the cheesesteak in the 1930s. Olivieri was a hot dog vendor in south Philadelphia who, as the story goes, decided to grill some beef from a butcher and put it on Italian roll. A cab driver caught a whiff and asked for a steak sandwich.