Is fire a solid or a gas?

Fire isn't matter, as it lacks the properties of a solid, liquid or gas. It is also not a true plasma. Rather its a potential form of energy release resulting from a phase change in matter. A good analogy is sound traveling through air. The air is matter, but air is not itself a sound.