What does a. m. stand for?

am - stands for the Latin ante meridiem, translating to "before midday", before the sun has crossed the meridian line. pm - stands for post meridiem or "after midday", after the sun has crossed the meridian line.

---

It could be Ante Meridien which is Latin for "before noon" and is the designator for the time between midnight and noon, or Amplitude Modulation, a method of modulating a signal in radio systems such as the one in broadcast radio or some mobile phone systems.