How much is petrified wood worth?

Tumbled or rough pieces that are one- to three-inches long will typically be worth a dollar or two each, if that. Bulk lots of these pieces are often purchased for even less per individual sample. On the other hand, a petrified wood log weighing 50 pounds could sell for $150 or more.