Who wrote the book lawn mower man?

Lawnmower Man was a short story by Stephen King in 1975. It originally appeared in Cavalier Magazine, then was re-released in 1978 in the anthology book of his short stories called Night Shift. It should be noted that the 1992 movie bears no semblance to the short story.