How long does it take to become a skeleton?

In a temperate climate, it usually requires 3 weeks to several years for a body to completely decompose into a skeleton; In tropical climates, skeletonization can occur in weeks, while in tundra areas, skeletonization may take years or may never occur, if subzero temperatures persist.