Is methane heavier than oxygen?

Methane molecules weigh 16.04 grams per mole roughly the same as atomic Oxygen at 16 grams per mole. Oxygen gas in the atmosphere, however, exists as O-2, which weighs around 32 grams per mole, making it twice as heavy as methane.