What does ambiguous mean?

Ambiguous means unclear or easily confused meaning. An ambiguous answer to a question might imply more than one meaning or whose intended meaning is unclear. Ambiguous directions to a lost driver might be to say, "Turn a ways after that intersection." It is unclear where to turn or which direction.