Do horses sleep?

Yes. Adult horses sleep for about three hours each 24-hour period. A sleeping horse will mostly carry its weight on the two forelegs and one hind leg. One hind leg will relax with the hoof resting up on its toe. If an adult horse goes into deep sleep, it will lie down on the ground.