Where does the expression dress to the nines come from?

The phrase "dressed to the nines" is just a specific application of the Scottish phrase "to the nine " The earliest written evidence of this phrase appeared in the late 18th century in the poetry of Robert Burns. Its meaning is "to perfection; just right."