What is a protogen?

A Protogen is a fictional, open species of furry created by Fur Affinity user Malice-Risu notable for being part-organic-part-machine. They are an extension of the closed Primagen species with common and uncommon Protogen's being open to creation and more affordable in auction than Primagens.