When did britain colonize india?

The English East India Company, was an English and later British joint-stock company.The company ended up seizing control of large parts of the Indian subcontinent, colonised parts of Southeast Asia, and colonised Hong Kong after a war with Qing China on the Indian subcontinent between 1858 and 1947