What does machine mean?

A machine, spelled M-A-C-H-I-N-E, is an apparatus with multiple moving parts, each with its own function, designed to perform a specific task or set of tasks. The word is sometimes used metaphorically to refer to an organization with an impersonal attitude toward its members.