Why do babies throw up?

Most babies vomit small amounts from time to time, and bring up some milk when they burp. This is reflux, also called possetting or spitting up, and is normal if your baby is under a year old. This means that when your baby's tummy is full, milk and stomach acid can flow back up his food pipe.