Is the united kingdom and great britain the same?

The United Kingdom is not the same as Great Britain. The United Kingdom is composed of 4 countries: England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland. Great Britain is the physical landmass comprised of England, Scotland and Wales. Northern Ireland is located on a neighboring island with Ireland.