Why do they call her queen bee?

The queen bee is the largest and longest-living type of bee – she can survive for up to six years. The queen bee, as the only sexually developed female in the colony, lays eggs to spawn the next generation of bees. She also produces chemicals to influence the behavior of the other types of bees.