Why are they called twin cities?

According to the Minnesota Historical Society, the nickname "Twin Cities"originally had nothing to do with St.Paul,the state capital of Minnesota.The term was first applied to two settlements on either side of the Mississippi River-St.Anthony's Falls on the east & Minneapolis on west-in the 1840s