When was the first dinosaur bone found?

Robert Plot is credited with discovering the first dinosaur bone in 1677. However, he guessed at the time that it was from a large human rather than a dinosaur. It wasn't until 1824 that dinosaur bones were correctly identified by William Buckland. Buckland named his discovery the megalosaurus.