How do you know when a poached egg is done?

To check whether they're done, remove one carefully from the pan with a slotted spoon and give it a gentle push with a teaspoon. If it feels too soft (use your instincts), put it back and give the eggs a minute or two more in the water to firm up.

---

It depends on how you want the yolk and the temperature of the water. For a very runny yolk, the outer part of the yolk will look white but the inside top will still be yellow. A very hard yolk will have white all over for a minute or two in the water.