When was smallpox eradicated?

The last naturally occurring case was diagnosed in October 1977, and the W H O certified global eradication of smallpox in 1980.

---

In 1980, the World Health Assembly declared smallpox eradicated (eliminated), and no cases of naturally occurring smallpox have happened since.