Is bread flour and all purpose flour the same thing?

No, typically bread flour has a higher protein content than all purpose flour.

---

The main difference between bread flour and all-purpose flour is a matter of protein. Bread flour, which comes in white and whole wheat varieties, has a higher protein content than all-purpose, usually 11-13%. Bread requires higher amounts of protein to produce lots of gluten