What's the difference between dietary fiber and soluble fiber?

The main difference between dietary fiber and soluble fiber is that dietary fiber is the indigestible portion of the diet whereas soluble fiber is a type of fiber that is partially soluble in water. Insoluble fiber does not dissolve in water and is not absorbed by the body.