What year did the first screen movie come out?

The very first screen movie appeared on June 19, 1878, created by Edward Muybridge called simply: "Sallie Gardner." Muybridge took a series of photographs of a horse, using 12 cameras, projecting them using his invention, the zoopraxiscope. It is considered the oldest surviving motion picture.