How long does a hummingbird sleep?

When hummingbirds sleep, they go into a hibernation-like state called Torpor. It takes anywhere from 20 minutes to an hour for a hummingbird to fully recover from torpor. At rest, a hummingbird takes an average of 250 breaths per minute. Their breathing pace increase when they are in flight.