What is a wine berry?

The Wineberry is an invasive Asian species of raspberry in the rose family. It is a spiny shrub that was introduced into the United States in 1890 as breeding stock for new raspberry cultivars. Wineberries are used similarly to raspberries to make pastries, such as pie or other sweet treats.