What are the different types of hash browns?

In some parts of the United States, hash browns strictly refer to shredded or riced pan-fried potatoes, while diced and pan-fried potatoes are called country fried potatoes or home fries and are served as a side dish at other meals. Some recipes add diced or chopped onions.