How did barry allen get his superpowers?

In the original DC comic story, Barry Allen received his super-speed powers as a result of a lightning strike, combined with a rack of chemicals that were spilled on him as a result of the lightning strike. In later versions, the lightning was attributed to a particle accelerator accident.