What does the phrase no quarter mean?

Saying “no quarter” means that you will not accept surrender and offer anyone a reprieve, or quarter, if they chose to surrender. It is going to be a fight to the death; a win or die battle. General Santa Anna offered no quarter to the men in the Alamo.