What is hyper thyroid ism in cats?

Hyperthyroidism is a common disease in cats, and mostly afflicts cats middle-aged and older. Also called thyrotoxicosis, hyperthyroidism is caused by an increase in production of thyroid hormones (known as T3 and T4) from an enlarged thyroid gland in a cat's neck.