What's the difference between regular salt and kosher salt?

Kosher salt is a pure salt that is a fairly large-grained salt, that was originally used in the process of making meat kosher. Its purpose was to pull all of the blood out of the meat going through the koshering process, so that the meat would meet the standards of the Jewish dietary laws.