Why do kiwis have hair on them?

Scientists aren't sure why kiwis have hair, but there are a few possible explanations. One possibility is that the hair helps kiwis stay warm in cold weather. New Zealand is a cold country, and the kiwi's thick fur coat helps keep them warm.