When is the moon closest to the earth?

The point in time when the moon is closest to the earth is called the Lunar Perigee. This occurs because the moon's orbit is elliptical, varying by about 10% in distance over the course of every 27.6 days. The perigee is not entirely synchronous with the cycle of new and full moons.