Where did the term eighty six come from?

Possibly article 86 of the New York State Liquor Code. The code defines the circumstances in which a bar patron should be refused alcohol or '86ed'. Or, from 1930’’s soda-counter slang meaning that an item was sold out. There”s varying evidence that Eighty-six is rhyming slang for Nix.