How do babies get jaundice?

50-70% of newborn babies are jaundiced. During pregnancy, a blood bi-product called bilirubin is filtered out in the placenta, after birth, a newborn's liver must begin to filter out rising bilirubin levels, until this happens a baby has a condition known as jaundice.