Why is it called a hamstring?

The word "ham" is derived from the Old English ham meaning the hollow or bend of the knee, from a Germanic base where it meant "crooked". It gained the meaning of an animal leg around the 15th century. String refers to tendons. The hamstrings are the string-like tendons on the back of the knee