Why is a mini gun called a minigun?

Miniguns are called that because they're 'mini' in comparison to the gun they were based off of: Gatling guns. An example of such a Gatling gun would be the M61 Vulcan, chambered for 20mm Vulcan. ... Miniguns are more often than not chambered in rifle cartridges, such as 7.62 NATO or 5.56 NATO.