What is the meaning of obssessed?

The verb "to obsess" means to preoccupy or fill the mind of (someone) continually, intrusively, and to a troubling extent. Obsessed would be the past tense of the verb. It can also mean a preoccupation with something or someone, as in "He was obsessed with the idea that an earthquake would happen."