Why does your hair turn white?

As we get older, the pigment cells in our hair follicles slowly die. When there are fewer pigment cells in a hair follicle, that strand of hair will no longer contain as much melanin and become a more transparent color like gray, silver, or white as it grows. People can get gray hair at any age.