How do you find fossils in animal crossing?

You can find fossils in Animal Crossing: New Horizons by looking for star-shaped 'X' spots on the ground across your island. These spots mark buried items on the island that can be dug up using the Shovel tool! When you find one, take out your shovel and dig to reveal the buried item.