What is milk salt?

What is milk salt? Dairy salt is a culinary salt product used in the preparation of butter/cheese products to add flavor and act as a food preservative. It can vary in terms of quality/purity, with purer varieties being the most desirable for use in foods. It has been used since at least the 1890s.