Is s. i. l. a word?

No, S-I-L does not spell an actual word in English. It's sometimes seen as an abbreviation, most often for Safety Integrity Level.

---

According to instrumentationtools.com: SIL stands for Safety Integrity Level. SIL could also stand for Sister In Law.