What was the previous name of ho chi minh city?

Saigon was a small port town known as Prey Nokor. ... The city served as the capital of the Republic of Vietnam from 1956 until 1975, when it fell to advancing North Vietnamese forces and was renamed Ho Chi Minh City by the Hanoi government