Is the name adelaide irish or french?

Adelaide is the English form of a Germanic given name, from the Old High German Adalheidis, meaning "noble natured".

---

Adelaide is the English form of a Germanic given name, from the Old High German Adalheidis, meaning "noble natured". The modern German form is Adelheid, famously the first name of Queen Adelaide, for whom many places throughout the former British Empire were named.