How do you stew a tomato?

Peel the tomato by removing the stem, dip it into boiling water for about 1 minute, then into ice water until the skin cracks and can be slipped off. Then put the peeled tomato in another saucepan with a small bit of water--and cook over low heat until very soft and juicy. Season to taste.