What's a flag jacket?

A flak jacket or flak vest is a form of body armor. A flak jacket is designed to provide protection from case fragments from high explosive weaponry, such as anti-aircraft artillery, grenades, some pellets used in shotguns and anti-personnel mines, and other lower-velocity projectiles.