What is the meaning of stockholm syndrome?

Stockholm syndrome is the tendency of a captive or abused person to develop positive feelings or attachment to their captor or abuser. The name Stockholm syndrome comes from a bank robbery in Stockholm, Sweden, in which hostages were taken.