What's a green weenie?

The Green Weenie was a sports gimmick in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, co-created by Bob Prince, the broadcaster for the Pittsburgh Pirates Major League Baseball team, and Pirate trainer Danny Whelan. It was most popular during the 1966 season