What's a bar of gold weigh?

You could make a bar of any size you want. But in Fort Knox, a bar weighs 400 troy ounces. One troy ounce equals 1.097 ounces. It is used for all precious metals, practically throughout the world. Troy ounces were first used in England in 1400. In 1828 the U.S. adopted it for precious metals.